Author Topic: In Fits and Starts  (Read 1779 times)

WalkaboutStache

• Stubble
In Fits and Starts
« on: March 22, 2021, 02:43:12 AM »
What with the proliferation of FIRE flavors (fat, lean, coast, barrista, etc.), I now consider myself FIRED-ish.  Not quite FIRE, not quite in the rat race.  This could be a journal entry if I had one, but I thought that there may some value in posting it here because I think it shows that things don't always quite go to plan, that it is good to be flexible and that optimism is a good thing to hang on to.

This all started at the last quarter of 2019, when I stopped a project I had been doing for several years and told my employer that I was going to take a long break.  I don't get paid if I am not in a project and have been with them for years and years, so they were cool with it.  I stopped desk work and got a gig doing what I love to do, getting paid to engage in my hobby.  It went reasonably well, and when that concluded at the end of the year I decided to travel.  The plan was to bumble about for some 6 months and then come back and take another project and keep doing the work-travel-work cycle until I hit my magic number, but only taking short projects (PLAN A).

Astute readers will notice the timing... 

In any event, travel I did, and while I was tucked away in my vacation house in the forest the Covid shit hit the fan.  My flight back got cancelled, then delayed, then I decided I might as well stay a little longer since I was not worried about money.  I was just going to get a new project when I got back anyway.