Author Topic: Finding and joining an open source software team  (Read 2426 times)

Zette

• Stubble
Finding and joining an open source software team
« on: March 09, 2019, 08:14:04 AM »
Does anyone here contribute to an open source software project?  How did you find it and get involved?

My background is 15 years of embedded software experience, mostly in C with a brief exposure to Python.  I was a SAHM for 12 years, then found a “unicorn” job (20 hr/wk at a startup developing educational video games in C# and Unity) that will be ending soon. 

I want to do something I find interesting, and thought open source projects might be worth checking into and good for the resume.  How would I get started?

Ultimately my goal is to find another unicorn job that meets three criteria 1) interesting to me, 2) part-time with flexible hours, and 3) pays something. (I don’t need the money but find it helps to motivate me to put the hours in.)

NWOutlier

• Stubble
Re: Finding and joining an open source software team
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2019, 09:31:26 AM »
I would be interested in this as well... I'll post just to stay locked into this thread. 

NWOutlier (Steve)

FIPurpose

• Handlebar Stache
    • FI With Purpose
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2019, 11:27:11 AM »
Do you have any ideas? We could start a Mustachian open source project? I've been trying to brainstorm of what idea could reduce environmental impact.

Out there right now is:

https://farm.bot/

I've been looking at https://www.drawdown.org/solutions for trying to spark an idea on what might be a good project that we could measure the actual environmental impact of. Any thoughts?

Some of the drawdown solutions that I think may have possibilities:
- Smart Thermostats
- Ride Sharing
- Retrofitting
- Reduced Food Waste

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2019, 02:30:18 PM »