Author Topic: Asset Allocation Post Fire  (Read 16643 times)

NorcalBlue

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Asset Allocation Post Fire
« on: November 19, 2015, 12:28:50 PM »
Greetings all - was hoping to get some advice from you experienced folks:

A little background:

1.  ER'd in March of 2015 after being laid off
2.  42 years old and Single
3.  $1.3M in liquid funds

Issue:

- Although I've been striving towards ER for many years, I didn't do much research on investing.  After the crash of 08, I started hoarding Cash (dumb move I now realize).  Since I Fire'D in March, I've done a lot of reading and have started to reinvest into the Market in order to leverage the 4% rule long term (My current expenses could be sustained a t 2.5-3.0% SWR - $30k per year).

My current allocation is as follows:

-47% Stocks (VTI)
-7% Bonds and REITS (BND, VNQ)
-47% Cash (1-1.10% between MySavings and Barclays)

I realize my cash balance is still WAY to high (I'd like to have a 75/25 allocation stocks to bonds), but I'm really having trouble going any higher on my stock allocation considering the CAPE and PE levels of this market.  I know the studies all say to just invest the lump sum all at once, but I'm just so conditioned in getting a sale prices on things, it's really tough for me.  I did manage to invest and additional 250k during the August swoon, but I realize my Cash portion is still way to high in order to execute the 4% rule.  I'm also very wary of investing any more in Bonds considering the Interest Rate risk at the moment - it just seems like I'd be throwing money away by investing in bonds currently.

Anyway, any advice you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Tyler

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Asset Allocation Post Fire
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2015, 12:53:54 PM »