Author Topic: Will work for free  (Read 3588 times)

blackjack

• Stubble
Will work for free
« on: November 22, 2013, 06:52:19 AM »
A documentary talking about how millions and millions of jobs will become obsolete due to technology...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SuGRgdJA_c

footenote

• Pencil Stache
  • MMMing in MN
Re: Will work for free
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 06:55:35 AM »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2013, 07:53:50 AM »
You may find Kevin Drum's take on automation interesting:

http://www.motherjones.com/media/2013/05/robots-artificial-intelligence-jobs-automation

Quite interesting.  I enjoyed the Lake Michigan analogy, and some interesting predictions on pg 2.

Thanks for sharing.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

gimp

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2013, 06:01:21 PM »
Creative Destruction is a very powerful thing, and if you're in the Destruction part of the equation it may be painful for a while.

I do like his analogy in the article, but I want to make one correction. This is a widely spread myth about Moore's law. Here are the facts:

- Doubling occurs approximately every two years, not 1.5 years
- What doubles is the amount of transistors you can inexpensively manufacture on the same area, NOT COMPUTING POWER

In fact, every two years we roughly double density, but we only increase computational power 40%.

This is important because it changes his timeframe a bit.