Author Topic: What TV series do you like?  (Read 720294 times)

Adventine

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What TV series do you like?
« Reply #2300 on: September 06, 2022, 05:51:18 PM »
Alright, I thought the first two episodes of 'Rings of Power' were visually impressive, if a bit slowly paced and generally underwhelming. I get that they have to introduce some characters and set the scene, even if we're familiar with the general setting, and I'm willing to hang around and keep watching. I have no knowledge of the underlying text, so I'm going into it with an open mind.

As someone else said, we're waiting on the GoT series for a while, at least until RoP is done, which should be in 6 weeks.

They had so many characters and storylines they were introducing, the two episodes ending up feeling quite scattered to me. Still excited to keep watching.

I read somewhere that the first two episodes of RoP were like "unskippable video game cutscenes." That perfectly summarizes how I felt about them.

Metalcat

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2301 on: September 06, 2022, 09:24:09 PM »
House of the Dragon looks very cartoonish, which is bizarre since it sounds like they've spent more per episode to produce it.

It is also, so far, very bad. I don't even find Mat Smith engaging to watch and I ALWAYS enjoy Mat Smith, which tells me that the directing is a major source of the problem, where you end up with a Star Wars prequel kind of feel where even Natalie Portman comes off as a terrible actor.

Whatever they're doing, if it's making Mat Smith lose all of his substantial charisma, it's just not good.

It seems very effective at knocking DH unconscious though, so that's a plus.

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2302 on: September 07, 2022, 11:02:43 AM »
I'm really enjoying "Never Have I Ever" and "Ted Lasso" right now.  And Modern Family, which we recently discovered.

DadJokes

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2303 on: September 07, 2022, 03:22:39 PM »