Author Topic: Trying to come back to MMM...you are going to smack me for this.  (Read 10382 times)

psychomoustache

• Bristles
  • American expat in France
I have been dancing around Mustachianism for about - oh - 7 years. (blushes). I totally suck at this but some things have gotten better. I have gotten rid of a lot of crap, I own fewer____ (fill in the blank - shoes, shirts, skirts, whatever) and feel more peaceful as we bite the bullet to pay this house off ASAP.

ANYway...
As an over 50 woman these days, I fell into a Botox and filler habit. I mean - I started a few years ago before turning 50 and thought I looked so damn pretty, then got compliments ("oh you can't be that age") and meanwhile, the whole time, I've been angry and ambivalent about the whole mess. The last time I got stuck was in October. It's high time for another dose of poison. Or not. Please help me out here...

As a feminist, as a human being, it's completely wrong that I should feel pressure to remain artificially young-looking - that I'm not allowed to look my age. Then I think - well who is saying this to me exactly, and why am I buying into it (literally)?

So I am going to bounce this off of you all, and you can smack me if need be (it might help) and just jump in and help me think this through.
Here is what is scaring me:

1. If I let myself look older (and therefore "less appealing") maybe I won't be hired as easily for the workshops I run (I am a psychotherapist and analyst, hence my name).
2. It's just really hard to see my sagging chin, my eye-bags... I suppose there's a quality of mourning to it (I know, stop my whining) but knowing that needle-sticks stop this is so seductive.
3. Believe it (it is sort of unbelievable) or not - my mother wants me to continue. This hurts - she has always been very critical of my appearance though. Once when I was 50 I sent her a picture of me - she hated the way my neck looked - she wouldn't show it to her friends.