Poll

Do you believe one specific religion is correct?

Yes
22 (15.2%)
No
123 (84.8%)

Total Members Voted: 136

Author Topic: Religion?  (Read 184185 times)

HappyRock

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Religion?
« Reply #150 on: September 24, 2014, 08:27:38 PM »
More important reasons for a Christian, for example, are the historical record and testimony of Christ's life, and the evidence behind the death/resurrection story. And, of course, just plain ol' faith, for which there is no evidence.

See, where Christianity loses me is precisely that historical record you mention.  I'm a historian and researcher by nature, so naturally I looked into the history for the holy book of my faith growing up.  What I found were church doctrine that changed with the eras (there's justification for anything in a book with 30,000 contradictions), grossly edited manuscripts, power struggles in downplaying the gnostic camp in the 300-400s, stories more easily explained by piggy backing old stories (Horus anyone?), etc. etc.  Basically, the Bible has no credibility to me - hence why I understand the deist position, which I reckon to be similar to Aristotle's First Mover, but not a god or policy based on the words in that compilation of writings.  Did a man named Jesus exist?  Almost certainly.  Did he preach?  Yes, most likely a doomsday preacher similar to others at that time with an added "give up your worldly possessions and be kind (read: inclusive) to others" twist.   Was he crucified?  Yes.  Was he supernatural?  Eh, I don't think so - even by the writings of his own followers he never claimed to be.  Take in mind that as Christianity grew, stories about him became more fantastical and expressly sought to fill gaps in the previous stories or settle doctrinal disputes at the time.  It just all makes so much more sense without the supernatural element.