Author Topic: Pro-life but not pro-mask, and other dichotomies  (Read 62919 times)

Metalcat

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Pro-life but not pro-mask, and other dichotomies
« Reply #50 on: March 25, 2021, 10:28:44 AM »
We all have our blind spots, and let's be real, I don't think we typically reach conclusions based on objective, well-reasoned analysis even though many of us think we do the best we can striving to do that. I think that describes people on all sides of the political arena.

IMO progressives' seemingly robust embrace of 'science' and intellectualism and all of that seems to crumble immediately when any of it contradicts religion which let's face it, is inevitable. My honest take is that a "party of science" would be composed of non-religious people.

I don't necessarily agree. I was a scientist and worked with many religious scientists over the years. Not a ton of open Christians, but a lot of Jews and Muslims who were very spiritual and had no conflict between their faith and science. It is not at all inevitable that science contradicts religion, it's just certain religious groups who think that their religion contradicts science.

Sure, people can say they are "spiritual" or something like that without adhering to many (or any?) hard rules and without worshipping anything at all, but I haven't met two people who have the same definition of what "being spiritual" even means. Is it some sort of "universal connectedness" or something? I guess that's really beside the point, because is it really even a "religion" or just some sort of vague feeling? Who the hell knows?

Most definitions of "religion" that I've seen include elements of rules, systems, faith, worship, supernatural, adherence, etc. That is the stuff I'm talking about - people and institutions who cling to mythology like it's some objective truth of the universe. I mean it's just ridiculous on its face.

Uh, I did specify Jews and Muslims, and they have tons of rules.