Author Topic: Legitimate criticisms of each 2016 Presidential Candidate  (Read 738049 times)

Yaeger

• Pencil Stache
Re: Legitimate criticisms of each 2016 Presidential Candidate
« Reply #900 on: March 02, 2016, 05:24:00 PM »
Okay, if the primary driver of increased health care costs is government, then you should be able to explain why even more government (i.e., the single-payer systems in most other first-world countries) hasn't driven even higher cost increases in those places.

Trump sucks, I hate that guy. I hate him less than Bernie though. The studies aren't detailed because Sanders hasn't released specifics on his plans. Just reading his general proposals depresses me.

https://berniesanders.com/issues/medicare-for-all/

Single payer is cheaper because of two major things (probably more, I'm no expert in healthcare): they pay fixed prices on drugs, forcing US to pay the majority of the development costs, AND they control the supply. The national healthcare systems control all aspects of the service. So if you're a doctor, more than likely you're a government employee. The UK's NHS is under considerable stress as the population ages, young doctors are speaking with their feet, the doctors are even striking.

http://www.bbc.com/news/health-35535704

Those countries still have private healthcare, which many people use because it's faster, cheaper, and better quality. In Canada, about 28% of healthcare spending is private, and private clinics have experienced an explosive growth since 2006. Even in a system with public healthcare, people go with the best option.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #901 on: March 02, 2016, 05:30:10 PM »
Ulysses S. Grant... Dwight Eisenhower... Washington