Author Topic: Is being too insensitive to being flamed and criticized on forums a bad thing?  (Read 8812 times)

blackomen

• Stubble
  • Antifragile since 1983
    • Gimme Serendipity (a Stumbleupon Clone)
I've been using the internet for 18 years (starting before high school) and I've been using forums ever since my first few years online.  Early on, being attacked, flamed, criticized, etc. was a big deal psychologically but over time, I realized there was little the other person behind the screen could do no harm to me in real life.  Maybe only if I had said something illegal and got reported or if they went through a ton of trouble and had some hacking abilities to track down my address.

I generally speak my mind on anonymous forums and don't purposely go around flaming others or causing trouble but I do get nasty remarks on a regular basis in response for speaking my mind (that's what happens when you participate in 20+ forums.)  Unless the person attacking me clearly misunderstood my message or they're offering constructive criticism, I often don't even bother defending myself anymore in these situations anymore.

In other words, unless there are real world consequences, I generally don't care what happens in response to me speaking my own mind online, particularly on anonymous forums (not just this one.)

Thoughts?

sheepstache

• Handlebar Stache
Personally I have a pet peeve with people bragging about not caring what others think. 1. I find it harder to care than not to care about things in general. Not caring about things doesn't seem like a positive virtue to me. 2. If they really didn't care what other people think, they wouldn't bother going around announcing it. 3. Why interact with people at all if you don't care about the response? 4. It just sounds 14-year-old-ish.

...but like most pet peeves that's probably based on the specific circumstances in which I've experienced it.