Poll

Do we have free will?  And why?

Yes.
57 (77%)
No.
17 (23%)

Total Members Voted: 69

Author Topic: Free Will  (Read 69063 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Free Will
« Reply #200 on: November 23, 2014, 09:43:10 AM »
To lighten the mood, SMBC "Free Will" comics!  Yay!

« Last Edit: November 23, 2014, 09:48:12 AM by arebelspy »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #201 on: November 23, 2014, 10:32:24 AM »
With 75% of poll respondents replying yes, free will exists, I'd love for one of them to engage in a friendly dialogue explaining why.

Here's a question to start it off:

Do animals have free will?

If yes, I'll have some questions, but I'm assuming the answer will be no, so if no, what makes humans different?  Where does our free will come from?

At the risk of belaboring the obvious, no, most animals don't have free will (or if they have it, they hide it really well). They lack the human ability for abstract long-range planning by simulating how different scenarios will play out in their head, recording their plans or changing them later. They lack the ability to elaborate why they have made a particular decision and under which circumstances they would have decided otherwise. In short they lack ability for deliberate action. Deliberating, ability to intent, acting with premeditation = having free will. Predictably and immediately reacting to external stimuli with little apparent internal processing, repeating a set of instinctive or trained behaviors = not having free will.