Author Topic: Comparing the taxes of $100K and $500K W2 income  (Read 86985 times)

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Comparing the taxes of $100K and $500K W2 income
« Reply #150 on: April 14, 2016, 03:36:18 PM »
So when I come here and see people rant about taxes, and how it's unfair that someone has to pay more taxes, and the "other 80%" has it SOOO easy, and are lazy, etc.  I think "what planet do you live on???"  Not my planet.

Yeah, that's another interesting point.  If I could find a 40 or 50 hour version of my job as an attorney, I could do it more or less indefinitely.  Definitely in to my 50s and even 60s if I was good. Even as a 16, 18, 20 year old working an eight-hour restaurant shift, everything freaking HURT.  I can't imagine how I'd feel by 45.  I think this is changing as many working class jobs become less physical (ie technical machinist, not factory line worker), but for most of the working class historically and a good chunk now, work is not something you can do for 60 years.
My dad was lucky to be able to work as a mechanic into his sixties (and my other BIL too).

But this BIL with all of the repetitive use injuries?  His back, his shoulder, multiple surgeries.  He retired from the job, was off work for a long time recovering, then got another job fixing cars.  But really, he can't get up and off the floor. So he had to quit that job.  And he has more surgeries to come.

I have several friends in their 30s who are in construction, and have lost quite a lot of work due to injuries and surgeries.  I have another friend who was hit by a car (not her fault), and is on year 2 of recovery and physical therapy.  She has a physical job, and thus, cannot work right now. 

I used to work more on the manufacturing floor.  10 hour days on my feet, bending, squatting, whatever.  Man, I'd ache all over when I got home.

prognastat

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #151 on: April 14, 2016, 03:39:58 PM »