Author Topic: "The climate apocalypse is coming ... "  (Read 58292 times)

Kyle Schuant

• Handlebar Stache
Re: "The climate apocalypse is coming ... "
« Reply #350 on: October 19, 2019, 05:28:56 PM »

Apparently I'm not the only one who thinks a capitalist economy can grow while using less resources. Turns out somebody just wrote a book about it.
It doesn't matter. That we change from 20mpg to 40mpg cars, for example, doesn't change the fundamental problem - that we are burning the resource, and once burned, it's gone forever. In the West our increases in consumption and pollution are masked by our outsourcing manufacturing to other countries. The growth is in service industries.

I work in the service industry - I own a training gym - and this exists on the back of a lot of resources. The gym itself consumes relatively little, just a bit of electricity and water. But it can only exist as a business because people drive to it, and it only needs to exist because people drive to it. Because this huge amount of cheap energy means we barely have to move our bodies, we have to move our bodies formally in a gym setting to avoid becoming gelatinous blobs of sloth.

What cheap energy does for us is really not appreciated by people. It saves stupendous amounts of time and labour. As the saying goes, if you think fuel is too expensive, get out and push. Without cheap energy, 90% of our lives are spent within 2 miles of home, and 99% within 20 miles. Most of our day is spent washing and mending clothing, growing and preparing food, maintaining the leaky roof, and so on. Without cheap energy there is no surplus to allow people to become trainers or accountants or lawyers, and without cheap energy there is no feminism or freedom for women (the first suffragettes were from the middle class, which in the 19th century was defined as "well-off enough to hire servants" - and cheap energy is a servant).