Author Topic: Free tuition if you make under $65K at University of Michigan  (Read 4461 times)

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
http://www.mlive.com/news/ann-arbor/index.ssf/2017/06/university_of_michigan_to_offe_4.html

If you're in Michigan, have a smart kid or two, and are hesitating to pull the plug - here's one more reason to do it before the kids are grown.

jfer_rose

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Pencil Stache
Re: Free tuition if you make under $65K at University of Michigan
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2017, 04:14:29 PM »
I'm a University of Michigan graduate who may have qualified for such a program had it existed when I attended. This makes me so happy.

Dee18

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2017, 07:28:52 PM »
The fine print includes an assets test; the assets must be less than $ 50,000:

"What is the Go Blue Guarantee and what does it cover?

U-M will pay full undergraduate tuition and mandatory university fees for up to four years for students eligible for in-state tuition that have family incomes of $65,000 or less and assets below $50,000 and who are pursuing their first bachelor’s degree. Income and assets are verified each academic year during the aid application process and the guarantee requires students to apply for financial aid. The guarantee covers tuition for Fall/Winter terms."

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2017, 07:35:58 PM »
As written that sounds like it would mean either family assets or student assets.

oldtoyota

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2017, 08:13:36 PM »
As written that sounds like it would mean either family assets or student assets.

Yes. I wonder what happens to the student who is on his or her own for whatever reason.

Anyway, it's cool UM does that. =-)

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2017, 08:10:31 AM »