Author Topic: Journal of Accountancy Article on FIRE  (Read 2296 times)

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
Journal of Accountancy Article on FIRE
« on: August 30, 2018, 08:25:26 AM »
IDK if this has already been posted, but there's an article about FIRE in the Journal of Accountancy!  (I'm a CPA, who else would read this stuff?!)

https://www.journalofaccountancy.com/issues/2018/aug/planning-for-early-retirement.html

I feel like it is one thing to have an article profiling a FIRE person as a novelty kind of thing in the Washington Post or Forbes.  But it's another level to have it featured in a trade journal, presenting those aimed at FIRE as a unorthodox client segment.  Interesting!  The article mentions MMM, ERE, Mad Fientist, White Coat Investor, and in the print version sidebar, RootofGood.  Interesting, huh?  (or maybe not)

ixtap

• Magnum Stache
    • Our Sea Story
Re: Journal of Accountancy Article on FIRE
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2018, 08:41:09 AM »
I wonder how many of the locals here at MMM are looking for a CPA to guide them.

For example, even many bogleheads know better than: Oransky provided one example: FIRE movement members typically accrue significant tax-deferred retirement assets. However, as Oransky noted, "if they intend to retire early and start drawing upon these accounts before age 59½, they'll quickly be confronted with an extra 10% penalty from the IRS."

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2018, 09:01:24 PM »