Author Topic: Badass Mustachian leaves $188M Trust to Charity  (Read 6993 times)

Pylortes

• Stubble
Badass Mustachian leaves $188M Trust to Charity
« on: November 29, 2013, 02:10:37 PM »
Check this story out! True, it sounds like he inherited a chunk of $, but I am still inspired by a man who took public transportation, lived in a modest home and spent 30 years working in a job to help others while amassing a huge charity to donate on his death!  This guy sounds like a Mustachian.

http://m.nydailynews.com/1.1532305#bmb=1

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Badass Mustachian leaves $188M Trust to Charity
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2013, 02:56:37 PM »
Awesome. Thanks for sharing.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Honest Abe

• Bristles
  • Emancipate Yourself from Mental Slavery
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2013, 04:45:45 PM »
Seriously badass

Nords

• Magnum Stache
    • Military Retirement & Financial Independence blog
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2013, 10:21:36 PM »
An elderly Seattle man who lived a frugal lifestyle with holes in his clothes and coupons in his pockets has left behind a record-shattering $188 million in his will to three Washington institutions.
As many are now learning, 98-year-old Jack MacDonald was never poor but was in fact a secret millionaire.
"Jack went out of his way to look poor, partly because he didn't want to be badgered by people who wanted money," his stepdaughter Regen Dennis told the Seattle Times of the secret life-long philanthropist.
Heck, I'm doing that now.  All I need to do next is add in the $188M part...

Albert

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2013, 10:44:34 PM »