Author Topic: Pound Foolish by Helaine Olen: is MMM part of the problem?  (Read 35969 times)

EDSMedS

• Stubble
Pound Foolish by Helaine Olen: is MMM part of the problem?
« on: October 17, 2014, 09:13:57 AM »
I am an enormous fan of MMM combined with the YNAB system; in the last 3 years I have personally converted over 30 people to the power of conscious consumerism and stoicism.  MMM's message is powerful to me because it offers well-constructed arguments and a community that supports my chosen way of life.  At the same time, I must recognize that I am advantaged: I was raised middle-class; I graduated from college; my wife and I make over $150K/yr; I am male and white and healthy.  I am an individual POISED to make all the right choices and get ahead with financial badassity.

With the transition from pensions to 401Ks, as well as decreasing social safety nets, Americans are increasingly responsible for their own financial well-being.  This has created retirement HAVOC in the last 30 years.  The solution has been to “teach” individuals “financial literacy.”  If you are struggling, you must be illiterate.