Author Topic: Influence by Robert Cialdini (1984)  (Read 1634 times)

clarkfan1979

• Magnum Stache
Influence by Robert Cialdini (1984)
« on: May 17, 2023, 04:50:57 PM »
Robert Cialdini is a retired professor from Arizona State University. The last time I checked he is the most published living academic in Social Psychology. He wrote the original book in 1984 and I read the book in 2004.

The book is focused on understanding 6 universal cognitive biases within humans to help you make better decisions. I studied these principles at a very deep level in grad school from 2004 to 2011.

I have found these principles and other principles to be very helpful for my life. Our networth for my wife and I went from zero in 2011 to 1.4 million in 2023 while averaging 80-85K/year in W2 income. In 2022, we made a combined 75K in W2 income. How did we do it? It was mostly achieved with rental houses. With cash flow and cash-out re-fi's we were able to purchase more rentals. We did not receive very much social support for these decisions because they are counter-intuitive. You have to have the confidence to go against the grain. 

During this journey, my wife switched from full-time (45 hours/week) to part-time (15 hours/week) in May 2015. We only had to "grind" for about 4 years. We have actually been coasting since 2015 and our net worth continues to grow at a very aggressive pace.

Almost 40 years later, the book is now very popular among billionaires. The main reason for this is because Warren Buffet lists this book as his #3 for business books and Charlie Munger lists it at #1 for best business book.

Read it and let me know what you think.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2023, 04:57:06 PM by clarkfan1979 »

Morning Glory

• Magnum Stache
Re: Influence by Robert Cialdini (1984)
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2023, 08:42:46 PM »