Author Topic: Escape Everything - Robert Wringham  (Read 14377 times)

Nera

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Escape Everything - Robert Wringham
« on: August 24, 2016, 06:54:59 AM »
"Escape Everything!"

Escape from work. Escape from consumerism. Escape from despair. - book by Robert Wringham

The title says it all ;-)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Escape Everything - Robert Wringham
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2016, 07:49:15 PM »
As far as I know, the only way to "escape everything" is suicide.  And even that may not be true, depending on if there is an "afterlife," as some believe.

I'm assuming the book doesn't advocate for that, so I'm guessing it's more "Escape some things you don't like," which is less catchy, though more accurate.

I'm presuming, since you're recommending it, you've read it?  I have nothing in my life that I want to escape from (that I know of); is it still worth reading?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

human

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2016, 07:54:17 PM »
Chill dude, sounds like a cheesy title to discuss early retirement is all. I assume many people retire early to make work unnecessary. One way to do that is to escape consumerism and debt (despair). No haven't read the book and most likely won't.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2016, 08:07:34 PM »
Chill dude, sounds like a cheesy title to discuss early retirement is all.

I'd assume it's more encompassing than just ER.  I was picturing something more like How I Found Freedom in an Unfree World, but I might be giving it too much credit.