Author Topic: Gifted-talented testing...on preschoolers?  (Read 3377 times)

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
Re: Gifted-talented testing...on preschoolers?
« Reply #50 on: March 20, 2021, 03:22:30 PM »
I think a lot is going to depend on the school, as well. IMO, a really well run classroom should be able to accommodate kids who are working at a variety of levels. I'm a retired Montessori teacher, but I've certainly seen standard public school classrooms that did a bang up job at this.

Being very smart or working at a more advanced level should not equate being bored in school, and many kids who are bored in school are not geniuses, IME.

My grandson just turned 5. He starts kindergarten in the fall. He reads on about a 7th grade level. We will wait and see how his school handles this.

If he's 5 and reading at a 7th grade level you might find this site helpful: https://www.davidsongifted.org/

It runs in the family - his mom also read well when she started school.

Malcat

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #51 on: March 20, 2021, 03:24:21 PM »
Well, I shared the specific example of my own brother who needed specialized interventions at the age of 5. Everyone was certain that he had ADHD, but testing showed he didn't. The program the school came up with for him was amazing for his behaviour issues. Once they pinned down what he needed, he behaved very well at school. At home? Yeah...not so much. There was no managing his behaviour.

You didn't actually outline what the special interventions were in the special ed class.  How did they differ from the way that a 'normal/bored' five year old would be dealt with?  Why couldn't they be effectively implemented at home?