Author Topic: FTM, Twins, Long Distance... Feedback & Reassurance needed!  (Read 2241 times)

Tig_

• Handlebar Stache
Hello good MMM people.  I’m 14 weeks with twins…. FTM. And need some logistical brains to weigh in, poke holes, give me questions to think about.  Or maybe just reassurance…

TL;DR:
1)   Can I survive raising twins with very little to no help during the first 6-8 months of life? (and/or, give me permission to spend the money on a nanny even if I end up staying home)
2)   Reassurance that this is one of those scenarios where frugality and life happiness might mean hiring the nanny and the college student to clean the house and paying for lots of convenience.

SO and I have been doing long distance since June 2020 – which has been super easy with COVID.  I’m supposed to be in the office one day a week, so to visit him for two weeks is a piece of cake.  Long distance will be done next June. Hes 37 and I’m 33, getting pregnant and taking parental leave the last 6 months of the long distance was why we started trying when talk of “returning to the office full time” started to pick up… twins, and so quickly, was a big surprise.

SO is in his last year of residency, so while he does get up to 6 weeks of parental leave, once that’s done he’ll be working 60-80 hours a week most likely.  I currently live within 30 minutes of mom, stepdad, dad, stepmom, sister, brother in law, plus extended family, high school friends, college friends, etc.  There’s lots of resource support where he is, but most of them are also having kids and while they’d be great emotional support and folks to ask questions of, they aren’t going to feed the kids a bottle at 2am so I can sleep.  Parents are willing to come down to help, but probably for more like a week or two here and there, not a month.

So, here’s my current plan: