Author Topic: New Zealand Mustachians  (Read 55206 times)

RichERich

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Zealand Mustachians
« on: September 24, 2014, 06:29:36 PM »
Hi folks,
Thought I'd put out some feelers to see if there are any Mustachians lurking in New Zealand?
MMM has had a big impact on both my personal life and my work (I'm a personal finance writer for Stuff.co.nz and the Sunday Star-Times)
Here's an interview I did with MMM last year:
http://www.stuff.co.nz/business/money/8871812/Finding-the-road-to-early-retirement

I'm based in Auckland, and would love to meet some fellow travellers. I'm getting the sense that early retirement and anti-consumerism are starting to pick up steam here.

It'd be great to meet some like-minded people, and possibly also work on getting more stories and case studies out there to help convert the masses.

Signal your interest (if there's anyone out there) and then we can work on organising something more specific!

Faramir

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: New Zealand Mustachians
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 04:44:29 AM »
Hi, I'm in Pukekohe but I would be interested in an Auckland meetup. I may not be the ideal case-study with my car clown-like commute to Auckland every workday but I'm keen to meet other blog readers.  I'll wait for more people to signal interest & see if a time & date can be arranged.

nz

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2014, 01:19:51 AM »
Hi Richard, I am a regular reader of your columns ( personal finance junkie ) and have been hanging around this site and ERE for a 2-3 years now.

Like you, the MMM philosophy has helped clarify my thinking towards money and I 'retired' last year from my teaching job aged 48.
Whilst I would like to think that there is a groundswell of similar thinking people, I unfortunately think we are in a very small minority.

Anyway, I am happy to talk more or perhaps meet up. I live in New Plymouth but sometimes get to Auckland to visit my son who is studying at uni.

KiwiMust