Author Topic: New Mexico  (Read 10721 times)

janiesuper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Mexico
« on: September 03, 2014, 09:24:47 AM »
Someone else from NM found me in the blog so I started this thread just to gather all the New Mexicans together. Use this thread to get to know each other and plan local meetups.

Say hi, tell us where you are from, and anything else you want.  You can say a little or a lot, whatever you feel comfortable with.

« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 10:12:10 AM by janiesuper »

janiesuper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: New Mexico
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2014, 10:12:29 AM »
I'll start:

I am 41, female, I have a PhD in Biochemistry. unmarried, no kids

I own a home which is valued near the mortgage value, but I consider it underwater because of upgrades. I rent it out and I cannot afford to live there just yet. I refinanced it 2 years ago while I was working to a cushy 4.5%

My first layoff happened in 2009, and I've been through three. Twice I was long term unemployed for 8 months each. In my very last month of unemployement, I lost my long term umeployment insurance because the government did not want to continue fudning it.

I just spent 7 months working in a call center as a customer service associate for a retirement accounts services company. I quit last week to start a new job, back at the lab :)

I am living with very low rent in an attached apartment to my  mom's house.
I have been living on 24-30K per year for the last 2 years. Prior to that I was making close to 60K per year
I have 29K of credit card debt. (It used to be 45K+)
I have no student loans
My car is a 99 honda civic, paid off 133K miles and I plan to put in about 1K of repairs into it over the next year.

I'm on a VERY tight budget. In the past it used to be, well if it's under $50 I don't track it. Today, I track every dollar. I look for ways to save $10 here and there, and I never did that before.