Author Topic: Camp Mustache Canada - 2017  (Read 347943 times)

G-dog

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Camp Mustache Canada - 2017
« Reply #400 on: November 27, 2016, 07:00:29 AM »
Food? Gardening? I do those. -- what do you want to know?

Retired@63 - don't you do a lot of gardening?

Yes but after seeing Backyardfeast's gardens I think I am a novice.  My gardening claim to fame is giving a talk on how to divide and replant peonies and daylilies at an international plowing match.  I had 2 men show up 20 minutes early to be sure they could get seats at the front.  ;-)   And Ed Lawrence told me I could cope with slowly pruning a tree back into shape (4 years later it needs one more year and it will be fine) because I am a patient enough gardener because I have raised peonies from seed.  ;-)  They are gorgeous, btw, and I could bring seeds.  We could do a seminar type thing, short presentation and then long question period/discussion time.  Or talk about organic gardening on the cheap, or beneficials, or starting things from seed (and especially, why bother).  Or all of the above.

Composting
Use all your growing seasons (spring, summer, fall plantings)
Gardening ROI - best crops
Preserving the harvest (food and gardening)

I am basically a novice too.

RetiredAt63

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #401 on: November 27, 2016, 08:24:42 AM »
Composting

Composting - part of organic gardening, cheap gardening, basic gardening - definitely a worthwhile topic
ROI - so individual, but yes. And of course the really basic rule - if you don't like it, don't plant it!  Although some things are totally 1000x better from the garden so "don't like" may be "don't like from the store".
Preserving - my weak spot.  I mostly eat it as it comes.

Le Poisson

• CM*MW 2024 Attendees
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #402 on: November 27, 2016, 09:54:03 PM »
Food? Gardening? I do those. -- what do you want to know?

Retired@63 - don't you do a lot of gardening?