Author Topic: Young Investor - How am I doing?  (Read 22127 times)

Frugal_NYC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Young Investor - How am I doing?
« on: April 30, 2015, 09:34:01 AM »
Background
I'm a 24 y/o finance professional in the media industry.  In less than 3 years since graduation I've managed to increase my salary about $30K through promotions and a job change.  I have always been frugal, especially compared to the typical NYC young professional who would make Tom Stanley roll over in his grave, but since discovering this site and Dave Ramsey last year I have ratcheted things up.  The result is that I have built a decent little portfolio for someone my age.

Asset Overview

Currently make around $80k/yr, 3% match + 2% contribution at year-end for 401K, no debt, rent an apartment

1) Liquid (Checking/Savings/points,etc): $24K
2) 401K: $29K
3) Roth IRA: $20.6K
4) Taxable investment account: $30.5K

Total: $105K approx.

Investment Overview

401K: 78% in T Rowe Price 2055 Fund, 22% in T. Rowe Price New Horizons Fund (PRNHX)
Roth IRA: 100% in Spartan Extended Market Index Fund - Fidelity Advantage Class (FSEVX)
Taxable: 29% in FAMRX - 85/15 stock to bond, 71% in Fidelity Four in One (FFNOX)

Questions
1) Should I make changes to my taxable account?  I feel like there's no point to own 2 different funds here and the FFNOX fund even partially owns FSEVX which is in my Roth - how can I simplify here?

2) I am debating going back to school which would probably cost around $40K all in - is it OK to put more $ in my taxable account knowing that I may have to withdraw at some point to pay for school?  I already fully funded my Roth for 2015.  I just think I have too much liquid $ lying around

3) This kind of goes against #1, but if I wanted to allocate a portion of my $ to REIT/Healthcare index funds how much would you suggest and would I do this in the taxable account or the Roth?

4) any other tips/advice?  I want to own a home but I see that a minimum of 5 years down the road