Author Topic: Would you sell house and invest 750k in vanguard ?  (Read 5927 times)

pudding

• Bristles
Would you sell house and invest 750k in vanguard ?
« on: September 06, 2016, 12:14:55 AM »
Hi and sorry in advance if this is a newby investor type of ramble.

I'm new to the idea of investing in stocks and bonds so been reading and learning some.

I've posted before about a house I bought and how the selling price of houses in my city has gone way up, and that I could sell it and probably end up with 750 thousand....

As a newby investor I'm aware that inflation will eat it away if tucked under the mattress, so should invest if ever I do sell.

It sounds like Vanguard mutual funds are the way to go... however having read some about investing I do see the risk side to things and that you have be tolerant of these risks and not panic sell and be in for the long term.

Which sort of sounds a lot like owning real estate, and real estate being what I have now and have done really well owning and partly renting out as a landlord. (Though it's had its fair share of being a pain in the behind for sure! )

Before learning what I have about Vanguard I liked the idea of the dividends on the investment and it seemed much more simple than having to maintain a house, find tenants and house market going up and down etc...

But now it seems like what ever you invest in its going to have risks,  and at the moment I'm thinking that I'm already in the investment game with this house, and there's plus and minus to owning actual land and bricks and mortar.

Im thinking real estate is still good. Also investing in vanguard is good.    But... I dont think it makes sense to sell and then invest it all in vanguard... or does it?   

I'd like to be free of the hassle of being tied to the house, but I also like the idea of the money being in bricks and mortar.