Author Topic: Worth a switch from SP 500 index?  (Read 3929 times)

Justin1911

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Worth a switch from SP 500 index?
« on: August 26, 2015, 04:12:59 PM »
I am very new to MMM. Right now in my taxable account with Vanguard I have about $20k in VFIAX and $11k in VTIAX. Since finding this blog I have seen a lot of people recommending VTSAX over VFIAX. Here's my question: Should I exchange my VFIAX shares for VTSAX? The two funds seem to perform similarly enough.

My three options under consideration are:
(1) stick with current holdings and keep contributing to my two funds (working towards a 80/20 balance between VFIAX and VTIAX)
(2) exchange VFIAX for VTSAX and keep contributing towards a 80/20 balance.
(3) stick with VFIAX and VTIAX, and buy a 3rd fund with some small cap domestic exposure (and aim for a 70/20/10 balance)

Am I overthinking things or worse, am I totally off base in my investments?

If it matters to anyone, my Roth IRA with Vanguard has about $16k with the same allocation as my brokerage account. I also have a Roth TSP with about $5k all the large cap fund (C fund I think it is).

GGNoob

• Pencil Stache
Re: Worth a switch from SP 500 index?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2015, 04:41:22 PM »
The reason most would recommend VTSAX is because it holds small and mid-cap stocks as well as large-caps. Over the long term, the addition of small and mid-cap stocks helps VTSAX outperform VFIAX.

With the recent down markets, now could be a good time to switch if you wanted to harvest some losses.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 05:07:30 PM »
You could also just buy enough VEXAX so that you have 75% VFIAX and 25% VEXAX. That's basically the same as 100% VTSAX.

cheddarpie

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2015, 05:10:01 PM »