Author Topic: Why not do 100% allocation, draw 4% at retirement, and yolo it?  (Read 65036 times)

shinn497

• Bristles
MMM's post on the long term gains of the stock market have made me pretty comfortable with its volativity. So here is what I'm wondering. Why not just dump everything into a 100% stock porfolio, draw 4% when you need to retire, and just yolo it along the way?

Would it be mathematically better to go with less volatility on retirement? If there are dips early on could these destroy your nest egg if you withdraw? Part of me just underscores the need to remain flexible?

Personally I see it this way. I'm 31, I don't actually hate working, and plan on earning a lot of money in life. I am a data scientist now, but I think when I am older I might pursue something else but still make money doing it. I plan on living in a paid off house ASAP, like dave ramsey suggests. And want 200k for health purposes or something by the time I'm 60. So I don't see the need to not be risky.

jacoavluha

• Bristles
Re: Why not do 100% allocation, draw 4% at retirement, and yolo it?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2018, 10:42:47 PM »
100% equities now might be perfectly appropriate for you now. In retirement, well its good you don’t have to commit to that now.

It’s easy to say you’re comfortable with volatility when youre 31 and the markets been on a tear for damn near a decade.

Come back and update when your 100% equity portfolio drops 45%. Imagine how that would feel if that’s your first year of retirement.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2018, 10:43:26 PM »
If there are dips early on could these destroy your nest egg if you withdraw?
Yes.

Note that 4% is not a law of nature.  It is "what would have worked in the past" and in the past, some amount of bonds had better success than 100% stocks in retirement.

See
http://www.retailinvestor.org/pdf/Bengen1.pdf
http://www.aaii.com/files/pdf/6794_retirement-savings-choosing-a-withdrawal-rate-that-is-sustainable.pdf