Author Topic: Why I am reducing mkt exposure+have been since 2015.  (Read 227057 times)

PathtoFIRE

• Pencil Stache
Re: Why I am reducing mkt exposure+have been since 2015.
« Reply #350 on: March 01, 2016, 10:48:48 AM »
In the long run, diversified portfolios of stocks just aren't that risky.

Reido

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #351 on: March 01, 2016, 01:05:20 PM »
If you're going to take that kind of risk - you should have subsequent gains that are appropriate. I wouldn't personally consider 1% above inflation a favorable risk/reward ratio. Basically your last 25 years of gains could be wiped out in a couple months...  Just my opinion

I have a balanced portfolio as a result of this. Nothing WRONG with equities, but I'm looking to FIRE in about 10 years.  I'm a professional so once I leave, I can't go back to my profession easily...

Interest Compound

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #352 on: March 01, 2016, 02:59:02 PM »
If you're going to take that kind of risk - you should have subsequent gains that are appropriate. I wouldn't personally consider 1% above inflation a favorable risk/reward ratio. Basically your last 25 years of gains could be wiped out in a couple months...  Just my opinion

I have a balanced portfolio as a result of this. Nothing WRONG with equities, but I'm looking to FIRE in about 10 years.  I'm a professional so once I leave, I can't go back to my profession easily...

Remember, volatility is a good thing during the accumulation phase. Using the same calculations from above:

Total US Bond in USD: $333,170

It's quite telling that even 100% Japanese stocks starting from 1989 beat 100% US bonds.

Reido

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #353 on: March 01, 2016, 07:54:53 PM »