Author Topic: Why Do People Prefer To Put Their Roth Funds Into Idexes That Do Poorly?  (Read 4410 times)

NeoGenMike

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi there! Im still learning the ropes of Roth IRA and stock investments, but one thing has always bugged me ever since I started learning. EVERYONE always suggests VTIAX or VXUS or something very similar. I know it's good to diversify, but why diversify into something that doesnt make you any money? What exactly am I not seeing yet? Thanks for all your help in advance!

bobechs

• Handlebar Stache
It is ingrained hatred for making real money, I suppose.

What else could it be?

NeoGenMike

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
It is ingrained hatred for making real money, I suppose.

What else could it be?

Well I mean, I know I'm wrong, because all I hear is how well it performs and how it is their best stock in their portfolio. Is there more to these stocks than just the apparent value?

bobechs

• Handlebar Stache
Like, maybe ride the cannabis legalization pony ftw?

All upside with no feasible down...

https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/tip-maybe-)/

MDM

• Senior Mustachian

NeoGenMike

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What exactly am I not seeing yet?
Does Callan periodic table of investment returns - Bogleheads help?

I see, so if im reading that correctly, something like VWO SEEMS  to do bad, but if you time it right its good.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
What exactly am I not seeing yet?
Does Callan periodic table of investment returns - Bogleheads help?
I see, so if im reading that correctly, something like VWO SEEMS  to do bad, but if you time it right its good.
Imagine you are in mid-2005.  You might be saying "look how great VWO has been doing - why would anyone do anything else?"  And you might continue to say that for another 2.5 years or so, until....

The point is that nobody knows what the next hot sector will be, and chasing the latest high flier is likely to end poorly for the chasers.

human

• Pencil Stache