Author Topic: where to start. how much trouble am i in  (Read 3437 times)

twinshadow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
where to start. how much trouble am i in
« on: July 13, 2016, 07:21:02 PM »
I just turned 40.  my wife is a teacher with pension.  no idea what she has tucked away. I have about 120K spread between a roth401K and my 401K.   as of 2 years ago once my family little ones allowed it, I tucked 5% company match in 401K and 15% of my pay in Roth.  we have a mortgage , two cars (lease and a purchase) and only 10K in savings.  Feel comfortable enough (I'm new to moneymustache) to take the reins and start pounding away money in school funds for kids and e-savings but looking to grab some ideas on what easy changes I can start with.  An extra Vangaurd account I am reading? which one will we benefit from with a set it and forget it movement.?  We both work and make a decent sum.

Psychstache

• Handlebar Stache
Re: where to start. how much trouble am i in
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2016, 07:26:33 PM »
There is a ton of missing information needed if you are looking for advice. I would recommend creating a case study if you want help specific to your situation. Here is how to do that:

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/how-to-write-a-'case-study'-topic/

DrF

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 02:02:57 PM »
First off, I wouldn't put any money into a Roth unless:
1) you are already contributing the max ($18k) into your 401k each year
2) don't qualify for a traditional IRA for some reason

Also, how do you not know if your wife has any savings? I mean, not even a ballpark?

edit: I wouldn't set up a separate fund for your kid's college if it means you won't have money for retirement. Get your financial situation covered first before you think about theirs.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 02:04:40 PM by DrFunk »

Mr. Green

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2016, 03:36:31 PM »