Author Topic: Where to Park Your Short Term Cash  (Read 38481 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Where to Park Your Short Term Cash
« on: March 30, 2013, 06:53:30 PM »
This question comes up all the time here.  Where do I keep my huge chunk of cash that I will need relatively soon?

There are lots of different opinions, but here's a great article that articulates the reasons behind one of the best places, IMO: short term T-bills.

http://www.joshuakennon.com/treasurydirect-cash-reserves/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: Where to Park Your Short Term Cash
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 07:00:09 PM »
But what if I need it to grow fast in that short term? ;)

TheDude

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 07:08:21 PM »
I am not really behind T bills the lack of return isnt worth it. You should have a plan. It doesnt matter if you have $300 or $1000000 you should excute your plan. I recommend a nice balanced portfolio of low fee vanguard funds. Should come into a large amount of money you should have trust in your in your portfolio and execute appropriately. Also if you have faith in the Treasury than there is no reason to not have faith in the FDIC. Meaning you can up to 250K  in the bank (500K Joint)

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 07:24:16 PM »
+1 for Joshua Kennon and for my father, who believed and did exactly the same thing.