Author Topic: Where to invest in 2018  (Read 4737 times)

cavinvestor

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where to invest in 2018
« on: January 26, 2018, 04:57:39 PM »
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie here and really looking for suggestions to invest.  So far I have invested in these

1) Primary residence (Still paying mortgage)
2) Out of state investment property (Rental)
3) 401k (Maxed out)
4) Roth IRA - Robot advisor

I'm looking for short term (<1-2years) investments and I see these options

1) Peer-Peer lending  (Majority are 5+ years)
2) CD - Return is low
3) High interest saving / money market account - (I don't think it is high enough.  I'm looking for atleast 7%)
4) Individual stocks - Need to be upto date with the market always. I have burnt my hand ones in this area and it is like once bitten twice shy.
5) Bitcoin? - Still studying this market.

Is it better to keep the cash and wait for market correction? or invest somewhere?  Any suggestions are highly appreciated.

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
Re: Where to invest in 2018
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2018, 05:37:37 PM »

Retire-Canada

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2018, 06:28:18 PM »
Short-term from your list the only two that make sense are CD and high interest savings. At best you are trying to keep pace with inflation.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 06:55:11 PM by Retire-Canada »

MrDelane

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 06:49:55 PM »
The OP says they are looking for short term, less than 1-2 year long investments.
Would you all really suggest dumpting it into VTSAX for that short a timeframe?
Seems like an odd choice to me.

At that short a time frame I would say you're looking at a high yield savings, CD or money market as your best options.

Rob_bob

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2018, 08:20:42 PM »
I agree, short term, CD's and high yield checking.  IMO at this time Bitcoin is like going to Vegas, put 'er all on RED!

ysette9

• Walrus Stache