Author Topic: Where to invest?  (Read 3076 times)

webcat86

• Stubble
Where to invest?
« on: January 25, 2016, 10:08:59 AM »
I've decided to go into the Vanguard LS 100, but it's pretty light in certain areas and is very heavy on US and UK, so i thought i would add some extra diversification. This is my first time investing though so would really appreciate some feedback.

Just to state upfront, i'm going in for 100% equities now, and have a cash reserve of £7000 in high interest accounts.

Vanguard LS 100
Vanguard Japan stock index [I'm not sure on this as Japan is 7% of the LS 100 fund]
Vanguard global small-cap index fund GBP
Blackrock global property equity tracker D [for property exposure]

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Where to invest?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2016, 12:42:17 PM »
... only you can answer this question.  To help you do so, I'd highly recommend creating your own Investor Policy Statement (ISP). 
Once you have an ISP - stick to it, and don't the current market conditions change your ISP.

webcat86

• Stubble
Where to invest?
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2016, 01:36:58 AM »
... only you can answer this question.  To help you do so, I'd highly recommend creating your own Investor Policy Statement (ISP). 
Once you have an ISP - stick to it, and don't the current market conditions change your ISP.

I'm mostly just concerned about not being inadvertently over exposed to, say, Japan and making sure that my portfolio is not missing anything fairly standard, like small caps.

Basically I want global equity trackers, with property, and just want some input from experienced people here to help me find a reasonable allocation to each
« Last Edit: January 26, 2016, 01:52:34 AM by webcat86 »

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2016, 08:14:25 AM »
On the stock side look at the following as options only..no recommendations.
VTSAX
VTIAX
VSMAX
VIMAX