Author Topic: Where to begin with my finances?  (Read 12129 times)

Sebastian

• Stubble
Where to begin with my finances?
« on: April 26, 2013, 09:27:08 AM »
To begin, I'm 26 years old living in Madison, WI. I've been out of college now for 3 years and I currently work in sales. This year I'm probably going to make somewhere between 40-50K gross. I don't have any kind of investments in place (yet), and I have about 8K saved up for myself.

Now my question is where do I begin? I'm already going to start living super frugally. Cutting my expenses down by A LOT. It already makes me feel better about the future of my life :)

When it comes to investing, I want to get into one of the Vanguard index funds. These seem to make the most sense to me; however, should I also be getting into 401K and IRA as well?

Honestly I'm not sure how much money I would be able to contribute to three separate accounts and my goal is to be FI in the next 10 years. In order to make sure I start seeing some return on my investments. I would think that the taxable index fund makes the most sense because they I could start pulling out some money in like 10-20 years once I have a sizable amount in there right?

After I can quit my job I'd keep working side jobs aka doing things that I love. Personal training, playing in a band, website development, etc. etc. So I wouldn't be completely dependent on my investment income, but I want to make sure that I'm starting off in the right direction.

So what do you guys think I should do? If I can cut my living expenses down to 11-12K a year that gives me about 25-30K to play with per year. Should I put that all away into an index fund in a taxable account or do something else?

Thanks again!
Seth
« Last Edit: April 26, 2013, 09:58:44 AM by SethBahookey »

GreenGuava

• Stubble
Re: Where to begin with my finances?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 10:16:02 AM »