Author Topic: When to move down payment $ out of Vanguard to cash?  (Read 3048 times)

AshStash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
When to move down payment $ out of Vanguard to cash?
« on: April 15, 2018, 02:38:00 PM »
I've been saving for a house down payment for nearly 10 years, which has become rolled up into my general taxable investments at Vanguard. Needless to say, I have a LOT of capital gains now :) Hooray!

I am expecting to need about $80,000 to cover 20% down payment + various closing costs. Thanks to the bull market (and MMM), I could almost pay cash for a house based on the market value of my taxable investments, but I think I'd rather leave the money in VTSAX. I already have $30k in an online savings account for emergencies.

I am now at a point career-wise where I am hopefully done moving around and I expect to buy a house in the next year or so. Is it time to start moving money to my online savings account earning a paltry 1.5%? Is it better to just take the whole $80k out now or leave some in the market? Take out $50k and add it to my $30k emergency fund and call it good?

Because my down payment savings have been mingled in with my FI stash, I am struggling with the thought of moving any money out of Vanguard and seeing my stash go down, which I know is a bit silly :) I have been planning to buy a house at some point, so it is included in my FIRE plans.

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
Re: When to move down payment $ out of Vanguard to cash?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2018, 02:44:15 PM »
Would delaying buying a house in the event of a market crash cause you hardship (practical or emotional)?

Would you be willing to delay such a purchase if you found a good housing opportunity in the middle of a downturn?

If “no” and “yes”, you could leave the money invested until/unless you get serious about a specific property or shopping for one. That’s basically what we did and it worked well, as we bought in spring of 2007. Spring 2009 would not have worked quite as well...