Author Topic: When did you first feel like your investments were really taking off?  (Read 12766 times)

LAJPP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm still fairly new to saving at a good clip and am in the 'wealth building' stage. After about 2 years, it still feels like I'm just putting money away and it's sitting there. There doesn't feel like the investments have any meaningful momentum of their own. I have faith in the strategy, but sometimes it's a bummer stashing away such a large portion of each check.

When did you first start to feel as though it was starting to get easier? Was there some kind of psychological crossover point for you?

doggyfizzle

• Bristles
I’ll bite; I’ve had three milestones so far where I’ve really experienced the “crossover” point that my money was truly working for me:

1) the first $100 grand.  I made it there at a pretty young age (~24) and for some reason that number had a big impact on my continued desire to invest.

2) $500k - my wife and I are comfortably above this now, but it is very comforting knowing that you could invest your whole nut in tax-free munis and combined with contributions to taxable and tax deferred accounts each year still grow your net worth by $60-70k.

3) $~50k in a 10% take in an LLC formed with some college friends.  We’ve kicked between $100-300 a month each of us since 2008 into our LLC that has invested in breweries, a commercial building, and now an event center in San Francisco that is now spitting out almost $5k/year in distributions.  Having some side income that isn’t correlated to my personal job performance or stock market performance is a really neat feeling.

If you’re saving and investing and remain diligent, you’ll get there in no time; doubly so if you have an SO who also shares the vision of deferred gratification.

Rob_bob

• Bristles