Author Topic: What would you do with 10k?  (Read 4174 times)

Snartch90

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • To taste and illusion!
What would you do with 10k?
« on: February 14, 2017, 05:29:40 PM »
Hello!

I'm Brian, 27, about to move to Boulder, CO. I am new to investing and was hoping to get some advice to get me along the way! I just inherited 10k and I have no clue what to do with it. I just opened a Vanguard account. What would your next steps be?

Thanks!
Brian

Snartch90

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • To taste and illusion!
What would you do with 10k?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 05:33:02 PM »
MOD NOTE: Duplicate threads merged.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2017, 03:15:57 AM by arebelspy »

FIRE me

• Handlebar Stache
  • So much technology, so little talent.
Re: What would you do with 10k?
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2017, 06:11:55 PM »
Hello!

I'm Brian, 27, about to move to Boulder, CO. I am new to investing and was hoping to get some advice to get me along the way! I just inherited 10k and I have no clue what to do with it. I just opened a Vanguard account. What would your next steps be?

Thanks!
Brian

Hi. Welcome to the forum.

Do you have any high interest debt? If so you should probably pay that off before investing. And take care not to get back into debt.

If you are ok with locking the money up until your 50's, you could put it in VTSAX and have your Traditional IRA funded at $5,000 per year for tax years 2016 and 2017. (That is assuming you qualify for an IRA.) If you're in the 15% tax bracket, you will save $750 in tax both years. Plus possible additional state tax savings.

If you already filed taxes this year, you could file a corrected return and get the extra refund back.

If you plan to FIRE well before your 50's, you could put the $10k into a taxable account at Vanguard. VTSAX would be the standard choice.

DailyGrindFree

• Stubble
    • Daily Grind Free
Re: Beginner Investor
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2017, 06:38:13 PM »