Author Topic: What would you do?  (Read 4458 times)

jleo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What would you do?
« on: November 15, 2017, 03:50:28 PM »
I need advise on where to put some cash. I am fairly new to MMM so take it easy on being so much in cash! Just worried about the market right now I would hate to invest when my gut is telling me not to.

Currently 27

225k in Personal Savings earning 1.25%

450k in Business account earning near nothing

Investments- 15k

Debt-

Mortgage owe 290k @ 4.375% home is worth 500k

Business loan 155k @ 3.95%

I am stuck on if paying down these loans is a good option but with the money as cheap as it is it is a hard call for me, I thought about flipping homes or something along the lines of real estate but the home prices so high in my area the numbers are very tight. I am looking for a fairly safe investment and seems like paying down the loans is the only safe bet over 2% currently. I am also at about 200k salary if that helps at all.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: What would you do?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2017, 03:56:03 PM »
If the choice is between $675K earning something between near nothing and 1.25%, vs. paying $445K in debt costing something between 3.95% and 4.375%, paying the debt is better.

If you are willing to invest in stocks, history suggests (but does not guarantee) that would be better yet.

See Investment Order for more details.

ILikeDividends

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2017, 04:56:04 PM »
If you are willing to invest in stocks, history suggests (but does not guarantee) that would be better yet.
Depending on your investment horizon, and risk tolerance, the longer you are willing to keep the money in stocks, the closer you are likely to come to realizing the long-term performance.