Author Topic: What to do with profit from house sale - RRSP or TFSA  (Read 7079 times)

TGod

• Stubble
What to do with profit from house sale - RRSP or TFSA
« on: September 12, 2013, 02:43:31 PM »
I'm counting my chickens a bit early, but we are currently trying to sell our house as we've moved to a new city. We've already bought a new place, and when we sell the old one we are anticipating (here's the getting ahead of myself part) having about 60K in our pocket. Not a huge amount to invest but still. We already have a monthly budget plan (if we can stick to it, it will be epic) to maximize our monthly payments and anniversary payments on our mortgage to get rid of it by the end of the 5 year term (@ 2.99%)  I'd rather invest the chunk of cash if I can get a decent return considering my low mortgage rate. But as I'm pretty new to this investing thing i'm not sure what my best path is. If we sell quickly and get our hands on the cash we have an option to buy into an REIT @ 7.5% for 3.75 years, which seems like a nice return, the interest doesn't get reinvested in the fund so we would arrange for the interest to be invested in index funds within the TFSAs or the RRSP. Between my husband and I we have about $50k in room in our TFSAs.  The other option is to invest in RRSP's which also have a LOT of room in them. If we invested all or at least some of it in RRSP's I could get a tax credit back ($20k in RRSP would give me about $6k in tax savings) which could then be invested. Hmmm did I just make 6K in that scenario....?

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
Re: What to do with profit from house sale - RRSP or TFSA
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 06:16:11 PM »
Hey, have you read any/much Canadian Couch Potato? Good place to start.

TFSA is accessible which can be a good or a bad thing.

If you want to invest in US stuff, put it into your RRSP.

Do you think you'll need some/any of the money before retirement? If so, put that much at least into your TFSA.