Author Topic: What to do with Oil/Gas Stock?  (Read 29573 times)

BTDretire

• Magnum Stache
Re: What to do with Oil/Gas Stock?
« Reply #50 on: January 06, 2016, 08:57:33 AM »
Most of you guys are talking about buying oil company stock like Exxon (XOM) & Shell (RDSA) correct?  I was thinking of picking some of these companies up as a fun test.

Has anyone here actually purchased crude or futures on crude oil?  I am a rookie in this sense, and I have no idea what I am doing when looking to purchase.  What symbols do I look up?

I put a small chunk into Shell, BP, and Conoco, like you mentioned. Just kind of as a fun test. Hindsight I would have picked Exxon instead of Conoco.

Hey, I did a 'fun test' back on August 13, using UWTI, for a while I was up over 30%.
 Today I'm down 68%. Not so fun anymore. (UTWI is 3x leveraged so very volatile) Here's an oil price graph to show when I bought.
http://www.infomine.com/ChartsAndData/GraphEngine.ashx?z=f&gf=110537.USD.bbl&dr=5y

TheOldestYoungMan

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: January 06, 2016, 08:59:58 AM »
This article might help you out:

http://www.joshuakennon.com/lets-talk-about-investing-in-oil-stocks-and-the-oil-majors/

The price fall is interesting to see.  If watching it is causing you heartburn, just look up the dividend payment date, only check the price then, and look at how many shares your reinvested dividend bought.  As the price of the stock tanks, the number of shares you get with the dividend goes up (usually, dividend cuts can happen also), so by looking at that number instead of the price number, you see your investment growing.

And since you weren't buying money, you were buying an ownership stake in the company, that's what is actually happening.  The day-to-day valuation of a piece of property you own is useless information.  It matters what it costs the day you buy it, and the day you sell it.  The price going down while you're buying is a good thing.