Author Topic: What to do with an "emergency fund"...thoughts?  (Read 13472 times)

MVal

• Pencil Stache
What to do with an "emergency fund"...thoughts?
« on: June 02, 2015, 09:03:39 PM »
I am just starting out on my journey to FIRE and I am wondering, do most of you keep a 6-12 month emergency fund in liquid? If you do have an "emergency fund," where do you keep it? High interest savings account or elsewhere? I am set to have around $10,000 saved by the end of the year and I'm wondering if I should put it somewhere else besides the online savings account I have where I get close to 1% interest.

How much do you generally keep "on-hand" and what do you do with the rest?

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Re: What to do with an "emergency fund"...thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 09:17:08 PM »
It depends on how many streams of income you have, how reliant you are on any of them, how quickly you could decrease expenses, how much other savings you have and how stable those steams are etc.  Right now we are only on my husband's income as I look for a job but his job is guaranteed until Sept 2016 so when I saw I deal that gave me $200 for putting $3000 in an investment account I took it.  That was my EF (except for about $600) but we have our  moving fund ($6000) in cash plus a bit of other expenses.  We also have a HSA which I could cash some of and we are still saving post tax an additional $200/month so I was not too worried.  Some people prefer to keep a year of expenses but it is all personal.

TheBuddha

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2015, 09:17:26 PM »
I-bonds!

Financial.Velociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Devour your prey raptors!
    • Living Universe Foundation
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 09:20:07 PM »
I kept 6-9 months in cash pre-FIRE and none post-FIRE.  I no longer fear losing a job...