Author Topic: What is a safe income growth rate during withdrawals?  (Read 1531 times)

whywork

• Stubble
What is a safe income growth rate during withdrawals?
« on: August 11, 2018, 02:30:36 PM »
I understand 4% is a safe withdrawal rate during retirement and average stock market return is 7%.

The 7% is the average return but assuming the ups and downs of market, what is the average growth that can be expected during withdrawals?

Say I have 25x networth and am withdrawing 4% what's the average growth return I can have? I tried running firecalc for 1M and 40k expenses and see the below numbers

Period ->Return (Along with 4% withdrawal)
10 years ->5.9
20 Years ->5.67
30 Years ->5.25

So for example for a 10 year period, my investment will grow at 5.9% including withdrawals. I'm not very good at math but is there a way to calculate these for any period and any networth (20X, 25X, 30X, 35X, 40X etc...)

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
Re: What is a safe income growth rate during withdrawals?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 07:40:11 AM »
The stock market is less predictable than you expect.  For example, over some 30 year periods with a 4% withdrawal rate, your return will be -100%.  You will run out of money about 1/8th of the time, according to Vanguard's nest egg calculator.  That's with 100% stocks, and with just 80% stocks/20% bonds your odds of crashing improve to only 1/10th of the time.
https://retirementplans.vanguard.com/VGApp/pe/pubeducation/calculators/RetirementNestEggCalc.jsf

Whenever you see numbers like "5.67%" for a future return, be suspicious.  You should see large error bars around any prediction of future returns.  The danger is you ignore situations where your retirement savings crash to $0.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 07:45:52 AM »
So vanguard is predicting worse future than we've had in the past.

Really historically. You just want to avoid a large drop in the first 5-10 years and you'll be fine.