Author Topic: What individual stocks are you guys buying/looking to buy ??  (Read 8327 times)

Jack0Life

• Pencil Stache
What individual stocks are you guys buying/looking to buy ??
« on: April 21, 2020, 09:13:17 PM »
I'm a big newbie on stocks. Only start buying 1 month ago.
- Abbott Lab(ABT)- My first purchase ever. I made a dumbass mistake when I bought this at "market". It was the weekend when they announced their 5 min test. Off trading it was sitting ~76. I figured I put in a buy when the market open. I bought in 100@$83 when I easily could have bought in @78. But my dumbass mistake turned out to be a good one. It got as high as $100.
- Bought 100 Delta(DAL) for $22. Sold it @22.30 when Buffett sold a lot of Delta. Delta got pretty close to $26 at one point.
- Bought 100 Chase(JPM) @$90 just last week. Got to $95, Maybe i should have sold them off and make a quick buck.

No rhyme or reason why I buy. Looking mostly for stocks that are under $100.
Trying to see what the more seasoned investors are buying or eyeing.

maisymouser

• Pencil Stache
Re: What individual stocks are you guys buying/looking to buy ??
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2020, 06:36:07 AM »
I never buy individual stocks, not counting my company stock that I received a discount/match for. Not many "seasoned" investors here will recommend buying individual stocks, as far as I know.

I wouldn't call myself seasoned, but it's VTSAX or bust for me.

beltim

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2020, 06:50:11 AM »
I am a seasoned investor, and I like buying individual stocks myself, and think it's the best way to learn about the market.  But what you're doing is the worst way to invest.  Namely, you're not investing - you're speculating, without articulating a good investment thesis.