Author Topic: What If You Just Picked Stocks... An Adventure Story  (Read 51135 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: What If You Just Picked Stocks... An Adventure Story
« Reply #50 on: May 19, 2015, 10:12:18 AM »
This forum is the best.

And sol is quite a gentleman.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

bdbrooks

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #51 on: May 19, 2015, 11:05:09 AM »
I will say that I actually believe that beating the market is possible, but I have ZERO confidence in anyone doing it off of their gut or "investing in companies they know". Humans have almost too many investing biases to count (certainly too many for me to write about in 1 post). The only strategies that I would trust to beat the market are systematic in security selection, allocation, and rebalancing.

First of all, I do not know exactly what your portfolio is, but if you have over 5% of your portfolio in any 1 company then you are playing with fire. I have read plenty of studies on diversification benefits of individual stock portfolios. Once you get to 50 companies (2% per company) there is little gain in adding more companies. Less than 20 is foolish.Personally I would get it up to at least 30-40 (and I would consider that a high concentration).