Author Topic: What if no one buys my index at retirement  (Read 7370 times)

RiddleMB

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What if no one buys my index at retirement
« on: July 23, 2019, 12:20:45 PM »
While being a mustachean for almost 5 years, I'm very new in the stock market, so please excuse in advanced if my question is too basic.
Also, I tried to find a similar existing thread here, but without success.

I'm planning to create a portfolio which consists 100% of VTI. Maybe later I will balance it with VXUS (I live outside the US, so I can only buy ETF).

Today I discovered that in order to buy stocks, somebody needs to be actually selling them!!
The concept of buying and selling something that doesn't even exist quite baffles my simple and straight forward mind. So far I thought that by "buying stocks", I lend my money to companies, and as a token of gratitude, I get their stocks. . .

Anyway, back to my question: this realization made me wonder - in order for me to retire, and live by selling parts of my portfolio each year, I need that someone, probably from the younger generation, see value in those stocks and be willing to buy them from me. What if they won't be interested in index funds? (not talking absolute numbers, but the majority)

I immediately picture some old boomers, trying sell me bits of their individual stocks in order to cover their retirement, which I'm absolutely not interested in buying. Can't the same happen to me down the road with index funds?

Moreover, the usual FIRE strategy is to buy and hold for a couple of decades. Won't it reduce the liquidity of some major, in my case. ETFs such as VT, VTI, VXUS and VOO? (again, some probably will sell a bit as part of balancing a complex portfolio, but the majority if FIRE investors, like me, will hold to theirs)

Obviously I'm not bashing FIRE nor index funds, just want to understand the system before deciding if I should dive into it.

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache