Author Topic: What fund should I invest my 401k in?  (Read 4548 times)

ECOCAV87

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What fund should I invest my 401k in?
« on: October 05, 2015, 01:15:45 PM »
Hello all first time poster , but have been reading for over a year now and lurking. I'm finally getting my bills paid down and have been putting into my companies 401k since January as they match 5 percent. They just started the 401k in January of this year. They have a few vanguard funds and I'm going to list them out, but I'm still new to investing and not entirely sure how these correlate to the vanguard etfs most people say to invest in.

Vanguard Dev Mkts Index Adm
Vanguard Sm Cap Val Idx Adm
Vanguard Md Cap Index Adm
Vanguard 500 Index Adm
Vanguard equity Income Adm

Sorry if the formatting is weird and hard to understand, but that is what it says in my portfolio when I look at it. Thanks in advance I greatly appreciate it.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: What fund should I invest my 401k in?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 01:49:54 PM »
...not entirely sure how these correlate to the vanguard etfs most people say to invest in.
First, don't worry about the difference between ETFs and mutual funds - there isn't enough difference to matter for someone just starting.

If you highlight any of the funds listed in the OP, right click and choose the "Search google for..." option (or similar in whatever browser you use), you should get links to that fund.  E.g., doing that for Vanguard 500 Index Adm brings up this link: https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundId=0540&FundIntExt=INT.  If you want to see the corresponding ETF, click on the "an ETF" link in "Also available as Investor Shares mutual fund and an ETF" on that page.

As for the title question, you have many good options.  25% in each of the first four is one defensible choice, but there are many others as well.

You might try http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Category:Getting_started and