Author Topic: Wealthment/Betterfront Nail In The Coffin Article  (Read 17875 times)

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Wealthment/Betterfront Nail In The Coffin Article
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 02:38:26 AM »
Another good read - thanks for posting.

dungoofed

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2015, 03:08:59 AM »
No worries. Like the author I'm also hopeful for the future but at the moment there is no getting around the fact that these guys are charging 0.25% of your total portfolio every single year (on top of ETF fees) which Vanguard isn't charging.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 11:37:51 AM »
Great article.  A must read for anyone considering investing in Bettermint or Wealthfront.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

tonysemail

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 01:21:04 PM »
thanks, that was a really good read.

ROY2007

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 01:27:00 PM »
So.. I have around $3k in a Acorns account that I started less than a year ago when I was less smart. Been planning to move my taxable investments to vanguard for a while now. Acorns charges $150 for an in-kind transfer. I don't think my account has returned anything crazy so it would probably cheaper to just cash out of Acorns and pay the short-term capital gains taxes. Right?

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2015, 02:59:11 PM »
I... I think I'm in love.

a1smith

• Bristles
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2015, 09:52:55 PM »
And Personal Capital is even more expensive.  Using their website/app is free though.