Author Topic: VTSMX returns higher than VTSAX and VTI?  (Read 8556 times)

Bearded Man

• Handlebar Stache
VTSMX returns higher than VTSAX and VTI?
« on: August 09, 2015, 07:18:20 PM »
Looking at the interactive chart on yahoo, comparing all three symbols, VTSMX is up nearly 400% since inception, while VTSAX and VTI are up about 100% since inception.

Yes, the fees are .17% for VTSMX, and only .005% for VTSAX, but the returns for VTSMX are way higher. Would I be leaving money on the table investing in VTSAX instead of VTSMX?

VTSMX is what MMM recommended in his blog, so between that and the gains I'm leaning toward VTSMX. But I'm no expert in stocks, so I came to the experts to see what the deal is.

nonsequitur

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: VTSMX returns higher than VTSAX and VTI?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2015, 07:24:53 PM »
Not sure what chart you are looking at.  If it's really since inception, then the difference is because VTSMX has been around much longer.  So you're not comparing the same time frames.

VTSMX and VTSAX are the same thing, with the fees (and minimum investment) being the only difference.   

EarlyStart

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2015, 07:27:47 PM »
VTSMX is the same thing as VTSAX except the former is the "investor class", and the latter is the "admiral class".

If you have VTSMX and exceed 10k, it's automatically converted to VTSAX, I believe. VTI is the etf and has 1500 or so of the largest stocks vs over 3000 in the index funds, which include more small cap names.

You're overthinking it.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2015, 07:47:34 PM »
Not sure what chart you are looking at.  If it's really since inception, then the difference is because VTSMX has been around much longer.  So you're not comparing the same time frames.

VTSMX and VTSAX are the same thing, with the fees (and minimum investment) being the only difference.
^Yes.

Morningstar's default view (see this link) can be more illuminating.