Author Topic: VTSAX brokerage is/was part of emergency fund. What to do with it?  (Read 1590 times)

Freedom2016

• Pencil Stache
Our VTSAX brokerage account is taking a beating, obviously. Looking for advice on whether to move it to cash.

Right now, we have 6 months of living expenses in cash (Ally). Before things crashed, we had another ~8 months of expenses in our brokerage account - now it's about 5 months.

I'm thinking we should sell to build up our cash reserves (capital gains be damned).

I'm a consultant and my work is negatively affected in recessions. DH works for a safety net hospital which may not survive coronavirus.

I think I know the answer to my own question, but would like a sanity check. WWYD?

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
Re: VTSAX brokerage is/was part of emergency fund. What to do with it?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2020, 03:38:35 PM »
I'd let it ride. You put it into a high risk/high return investment with eyes wide open, right?

-W

solon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2020, 03:47:30 PM »
You have 6 months in cash and another 5 months in VTSAX? That's an enviable position!

Morning Glory

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2020, 04:04:39 PM »
Leave it alone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. If you get to the point where you have spent your cash emergency fund then you can cash it out.  The people who did the best in 2008 were those who FORGOT THEY HAD THEIR ACCOUNTS!!!!!!!!

Again, leave it the fuck alone. Log out and quit looking at it.

Freedom2016

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2020, 04:22:05 PM »
LOL. Thanks everyone. I am persuaded - we will leave it alone.

I had a panic moment because the fact that DH's employer could realistically go under was in the local papers today. Shit got real, fast.

But - deep breath - this is the whole point of having an investment strategy.  Thanks for helping me get perspective.

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2020, 04:23:43 PM »